Whois as a tool to prevent scamming on Craigs List Job Ads

Member for

1 year 6 months
Submitted by AlReaud on Tue, 06/14/2011 - 19:30

To those of us that have to look for a job, Craigs List is a good tool, but with some serious identity theft risks involved. In Fort Collins, there has been a rash of fake advertisements posting for usually high-end technician/engineering jobs. Automated Guided Vehicle Technician, R & D Technician, etc. Some of these look like to-die-for jobs. You apply, send off a resume, and then you get an email, usually from a free email service, like Hotmail, Gmail, etc.:


Hello Alfred,

Thank you for your interest in the position we have open. In order to be considered, candidates must meet the following criteria:

- Provide last 18 months work history
- Include two references
- Be willing to complete a standard 2 week training period
- Complete an IQ test, which is located here:

The test takes approximately 10 minutes to complete. Be sure to include your phone number after you complete the test in order to track your score and for contact purposes. Applicants scoring within a specified range will be contacted by telephone to schedule an interview within 24 hours of completion by one of our managers. Test information is strictly prohibited from being shared with any second parties. It is important to us that your information is kept confidential and exempt from disclosure.

Note: Applicants who do not complete the test will not be considered for the position due to the high volume of inquiries we receive.

Thank you again for your interest.



So what do you do here? The first thing I recommend doing, before anything else, is check out where the domain linked above is. Are they in the US? If not, it's a good chance it's a phishing scam. Real employers have real websites, with real phone/fax numbers you can dial.

How can you check out where this domain is? Using a tool called whois. Whois is available online, and if you have a Linux distro, it comes installed. An example of the command line version of whois for the above shows:

[me@HCTMAIN ~]$ whois iqtestiq.com
[Querying whois.verisign-grs.com]
[Redirected to whois.enom.com]
[Querying whois.enom.com]
Visit AboutUs.org for more information about iqtestiq.com
<a href="http://www.aboutus.org/iqtestiq.com">AboutUs: iqtestiq.com</a>

Registration Service Provided By: Ruler-Domains
Contact: support@ruler-domains.com
Domain name: iqtestiq.com

Registrant Contact:  
   Evgraf Komissarov ()  
   Lenin ave 2/12
   Moscow,  26809

Administrative Contact:  
   Evgraf Komissarov (EvgrafKomissarov@bk.ru)
   Lenin ave 2/12
   Moscow,  26809

Technical Contact:  
   Evgraf Komissarov (EvgrafKomissarov@bk.ru)
   Lenin ave 2/12
   Moscow,  26809

Status: Locked
Name Servers:
Creation date: 02 Feb 2011 08:30:00
Expiration date: 02 Feb 2012 03:30:00

The question to you is, do you want to be sending your personal information off to Russia, China, the Philippines, etc? Do you really? No you don't, and neither do you want anybody else to. So if you find these, please report them as violating the Craigs List Terms of Use by clicking on the Prohibited link on the job advertisement.

So Always CHECK FIRST and be a Happy Kitty!

Add new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol type start> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id> <u> <s> <sup> <sub> <hr>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
Enter the characters shown in the image.